St John’s of England Primary School

Aquinas Advisory Council

The Aquinas Trust established Aquinas Advisory Councils (AAC) from 31 August 2016. The AAC plays an active part in supporting the Headteacher, liaising as appropriate with the Trust’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and the Trust Board more generally in relation to the Academy.

Members of the AAC of the Academy play an important part in supporting the work of the Trust and individual academies in raising standards of achievement and progress for all pupils. This involves providing a strategic view, acting as a critical friend and providing advice to the Headteacher in relation to his/her delegated functions, making recommendations for improvement and highlighting issues. Through this governance role, members have the opportunity to quality assure the work of the Academy and report concerns to the Headteacher, in the first instance, and thereafter to the CEO. Members also provide links with the wider community within a Christian framework.

AACs will consist of:-

  • Two parent members elected
  • One staff members elected
  • A minimum of 4 members appointed by the Trust for their relevant expertise and ability to advise

 St John's C of E Primary School is an academy within the Aquinas Church of England Education Trust (Aquinas). The responsibility for the oversight and management of all aspects of the Aquinas rests with the Board of Trustees. The day to day management of Aquinas has been delegated by the Trustees to the Chief Executive Officer, Kathy Griffiths. The day to day operation of St John's C of E Primary School has been delegated to Lynda Doel.

The members of St John's C of E School AAC are as follows:

Trust appointed members Parent members Staff members
Mrs. Jacqui Macnamara (Chair) Mrs. Deisha Watson Mrs. Lynda Doel
Rev. Jessica Smith Mr. Alex Farley Mrs. Emma Cooke
Ms. Janet Vick Miss Nicola Stilwell (Clerk to Members)
Ms. Angelina Idun

The purpose of the AAC is to support, advise and be a critical friend to the headteacher in raising standards of achievement and progress for all learners.

The AAC does have delegated responsibility in relation to aspects of admissions, appointment of staff, complaints, performance management, permanent exclusions, school inspections, staff grievance and disciplinary. The AAC also has the ability to escalate concerns to the Headteacher, CEO or Trustees.

The AAC members meet at least 3 times a year and certain members will have specific functions as agreed by the AAC and the Headteacher. Members will also forge links with the school and wide community. Notes of the AAC meeting are available on request.

AAC Members’ code of conduct and declaration of business interests support the following principles: selflessness, integrity, objectivity, accountability, openness, honesty and leadership.

If you wish to contact the Chair of the AAC or any of its members, please email: and insert in the subject box ‘for the attention of the clerk to the Aquinas Advisory Council’.

Privacy Notice - AAC

Aquinas Advisory Committee Protocol and Delegation (April 2023)

Aquinas Advisory Committee - Declaration of Interest - September 2023Aquinas Advisory Committee - Meeting Attendance - 2023/24